Dr M, Mukhriz, Syed Saddiq sacked from PPBM

PETALING JAYA: Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Mukhriz Mahathir and Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman are among five PPBM MPs who had their membership terminated after they defied the party by joining the opposition bench in the Dewan Rakyat.

Amiruddin Hamzah and Maszlee Malik were also sacked along with the three, in separate letters sighted by FMT, dated today (May 28).

The letters noted that the MPs had sat with the opposition bloc during the one-day Dewan Rakyat proceedings on May 18.

“With this, it is informed that according to Clauses 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 of PPBM’s constitution your membership has ceased immediately,” PPBM executive secretary Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya said in the letter.

These clauses state that members can be sacked immediately if they join another political party or declare that they are exiting PPBM.

FMT has contacted PPBM secretary-general Hamzah Zainuddin and Suhaimi for comment.

Mahathir was the chairman of the party while his son, Mukhriz, was deputy president and was set to contest for the president’s post. Syed Saddiq was the youth wing’s chief.

Maszlee was the former education minister under Pakatan Harapan while Amiruddin was the deputy finance minister.

Source: Free Malaysia Today

1 view0 comments